EPFL – The Association of European Professional Football Leagues

The Association of European Professional Football Leagues (EPFL) is an association governed by Swiss law, founded in 2005 and based in Nyon, Switzerland. It traces its origins back to the founding in 1997 of the EUPPFL (Association of European Union Premier Professional Football Leagues). Originally composed by 12 members, nowadays comprises 30 Members and Associate Members across Europe.

On the Football sphere, the EPFL has an official partnership with UEFA by means of a Memorandum of Understanding signed by both parties in 1998 and revised in 2000 and 2005.Furthermore the EPFL has been institutionally recognized by FIFA in 2005. During the same period the EPFL has also reinforced the relations with FIFPro that culminated with the launch of the European Social Dialogue in Professional Football Sector held on the 1 July 2008 in Paris, France.

On the institutional front, the EPFL has reinforced its co-operation with the European Governmental Institutions and constructively collaborated with MEPs and Commission's officials in the definition and implementation of an EU policy-making in the area of sport to further promote the sound and stable development of Professional Football and jointly tackle issues of common concern where public policy is welcome and indeed needed.

EPFL is:

  • a voice of professional football leagues of Europe in all matters of common interest;
  • promotion of cooperation, friendship and unity between the Members and Associate Members;
  • participation in the UEFA committees (including the Committee of professional football);
  • protection of common interests;
  • the collection and exchange of information between UEFA and the Members and Associate Members;
  • organization of exhibitions, seminars, conferences, training courses for development of professional football.

The EPFL is composed of a General Assembly of Members (legislative body), the Board of Directors (executive body), the EPFL Administration (administrative body) and the Committees (advisory bodies).

General Assembly brings together 30 European Members and Associate Members. It is the legislative body of the EPFL, which determines the general policies of the Association and can give all powers and authority to the Board of Directors in that respect.

The General Assembly consists of a maximum of three named representatives from each Member and Associate Member.

The General Assembly meets at least three times a year.

Chairman – Sir Dave Richards (English)

General Director – Emanuel Macedo de Medeiros (Portuguese)

The President or RFPL Sergey Pryadkin since 2007 is a member of Board of Directors – the supreme executive body of EPFL.

Following employees of RFPL were selected into standing Committees of EPFL for 2011 - 2012:

  • Players’ Transfers and Player’s Agents Committee – Sergey Cheban, CEO of RFPL
  • Safety Commettee – Alexander Meytin, Security Director of RFPL
  • Competitions Matters Committee – Igor Mechshanchuk, Sporting Director of RFPL
  • Professional Football Finance Committee – Alexey Kuptsov, Financial Director of RFPL
  • Social Responsibility Committee – Evgeny Savin Head of International Affairs of RFPL